Mindfulness books and self-help book recommendations.

Spread the love

Mindfulness books and self- help book recommendations

Are you feeling overwhelmed by the endless list of mindfulness and self-help books out there? It can be difficult to know which ones are worth your time and money. That’s why we’ve taken the guesswork out of the equation. On this page, you’ll learn about the top books that can help you to become more mindful, present and self-confident. Each book provides a unique perspective and is written by an expert on the subject, so you don’t have to worry about reading outdated advice. We’ve also listed the benefits of each book, so you can pick the one that’s right for you. 

Table of Contents

Think Like a Monk: Train Your Mind for Peace and Purpose Every Day by Jay Shetty

In this inspiring, empowering book, Shetty draws on his time as a monk to show us how we can clear the roadblocks to our potential and power. Combining ancient wisdom and his own rich experiences in the ashram, Think Like a Monk reveals how to overcome negative thoughts and habits, and access the calm and purpose that lie within all of us. He transforms abstract lessons into advice and exercises we can all apply to reduce stress, improve relationships, and give the gifts we find in ourselves to the world. Shetty proves that everyone can—and should—think like a monk.

When you think like a monk, you’ll understand:
-How to overcome negativity
-How to stop overthinking
-Why comparison kills love
-How to use your fear
-Why you can’t find happiness by looking for it
-How to learn from everyone you meet
-Why you are not your thoughts
-How to find your purpose
-Why kindness is crucial to success
-And much more…

Reviews

“Jay Shetty shows you step by step how to build your power, shifting your focus from self-image to self-esteem. This book frees you from the hypnosis of social conditioning and helps you become the architect of your own life.”—DEEPAK CHOPRA, MD, professor of medicine, University of California, San Diego, and New York Times bestselling author

“Grab this book, find a comfortable chair, and let Jay Shetty take you on a life-changing journey. Jay guides us with warmth and clarity on a path to greater joy and purpose, offering wisdom that can be put into practice right now. You will want to share it with everyone you love.”—ROBERT WALDINGER, MD, professor of psychiatry, Harvard Medical School, and director, Harvard Study of Adult Development

“Combining ancient wisdom with the practicalities of today, Think Like a Monk provides essential guidance for traveling a balanced path to success.”—RAY DALIO, founder, co-chairman, and co-chief investment officer of Bridgewater Associates and New York Times bestselling author

“Jay Shetty has a rare gift for tapping into the world’s timeless wisdom and making it timely by infusing everyday moments with meaning and grace. He’s already shared glimmers of that wisdom with millions on social media, but here he gathers it all into one life-changing volume. Read this book to open your mind, lift your heart, redefine success, and connect with your deeper purpose.”—ARIANNA HUFFINGTON, founder of The Huffington Post, founder and CEO of Thrive Global, and New York Times bestselling author

In The Four Agreements, bestselling author don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, The Four Agreements offer a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love.

•  A New York Times bestseller for over a decade

 
“This book by don Miguel Ruiz, simple yet so powerful, has made a tremendous difference in how I think and act in every encounter.” — Oprah Winfrey

“Don Miguel Ruiz’s book is a roadmap to enlightenment and freedom.” — Deepak Chopra, Author, The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success

“An inspiring book with many great lessons.” — Wayne Dyer, Author, Real Magic

“In the tradition of Castaneda, Ruiz distills essential Toltec wisdom, expressing with clarity and impeccability what it means for men and women to live as peaceful warriors in the modern world.” — Dan Millman, Author, Way of the Peaceful Warrior

Jon Kabat-Zinn, PhD is internationally known for his work as a scientist, writer, and meditation teacher engaged in bringing mindfulness into the mainstream of medicine and society. He is the founding Executive Director of the Center for Mindfulness in Medicine, Health Care, and Society at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. He is also the founding director of its renowned Stress Reduction Clinic and Professor of Medicine emeritus at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. He teaches mindfulness and Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) in various venues around the world. He received his Ph.D. in molecular biology from MIT in 1971 in the laboratory of Nobel Laureate, Salvador Luria

Wherever You Go, There You Are is written from a mostly secular / scientific point of view. The author Kabat Zinn does reference the Buddhist roots of mindfulness, but the book is not religious nor is Kabat Zinn a monk. He is the creator of a mindfulness-based stress reduction program at the stress reduction clinic at the University of Massachusetts medical center.

Stress is a huge problem for many people and having stress management and coping tools could not be more important for so many reasons. I work in the health and fitness field and mindfulness is especially valuable to people who are endeavoring to eat for health and weight loss and avoid eating mindlessly or for emotional reasons. Mindful eating is a valuable skill to have.

Mindfulness in daily living – being fully in the present moment – as well as mindfulness meditation and the focus on the breath are among the best of the stress management tools. As Stanford psychologist Kelly McGonigal has said, “Stress is the enemy of willpower.” Meditation and even simple breathing exercises can reduce stress and improve self-control.

Stress. It can sap our energy, undermine  our health if we let it, even shorten our lives. It makes us more vulnerable to anxiety and depression, disconnection and disease. Based on Jon Kabat-Zinn’s renowned mindfulness-based stress reduction program, this classic, groundbreaking work—which gave rise to a whole new field in medicine and psychology—shows you how to use medically proven mind-body approaches derived from meditation and yoga to counteract stress, establish greater balance of body and mind, and stimulate well-being and healing. By engaging in these mindfulness practices and integrating them into your life from moment to moment and from day to day, you can learn to manage chronic pain, promote optimal healing, reduce anxiety and feelings of panic, and improve the overall quality of your life, relationships, and social networks. This second edition features results from recent studies on the science of mindfulness, a new Introduction, up-to-date statistics, and an extensive updated reading list. Full Catastrophe Living is a book for the young and the old, the well and the ill, and anyone trying to live a healthier and saner life in our fast-paced world.
 
Praise for Full Catastrophe Living
 
“To say that this wise, deep book is helpful to those who face the challenges of human crisis would be a vast understatement. It is essential, unique, and, above all, fundamentally healing.”—Donald M. Berwick, M.D., president emeritus and senior fellow, Institute for Healthcare Improvement
 
“One of the great classics of mind/body medicine.”—Rachel Naomi Remen, M.D., author of Kitchen Table Wisdom
 
“A book for everyone . . . Jon Kabat-Zinn has done more than any other person on the planet to spread the power of mindfulness to the lives of ordinary people and major societal institutions.”—Richard J. Davidson, founder and chair, Center for Investigating Healthy Minds, University of Wisconsin–Madison
 
“This is the ultimate owner’s manual for our lives. What a gift!”—Amy Gross, former editor in chief, O: The Oprah Magazine
 
“I first read Full Catastrophe Living in my early twenties and it changed my life.”—Chade-Meng Tan, Jolly Good Fellow of Google and author of Search Inside Yourself
 
“Jon Kabat-Zinn’s classic work on the practice of mindfulness to alleviate stress and human suffering stands the test of time, a most useful resource and practical guide. I recommend this new edition enthusiastically to doctors, patients, and anyone interested in learning to use the power of focused awareness to meet life’s challenges, whether great or small.”—Andrew Weil, M.D., author of Spontaneous Happiness and 8 Weeks to Optimum Health
 

♥The search Peace and calm can feel impossible, but it doesn’t have to be that way.♥

Inside this little book you will find daily writing prompts that are designed to give you a couple of minutes of grounding, presence, and reflection daily.

With encouragement to become present with yourself, and examine your emotional and physical body, you will be supported as you notice and develop a healthier relationship with your body and emotions.

The prompts are routine and are designed that way to help to create a routine long after the journal has been filled.

For the days when the routine can seem redundant, there are bonus mindfulness activities, free writing space daily to let go of anything you feel like releasing in the journal, and meditative mandala coloring pages with mindfulness quotes intended to inspire you and sprinkle your journey more joy making it more attainable, and sustainable.

The Mindful Journey Journal will provide you with the journal prompts and mindfulness exercises needed for a solid mindfulness foundation.

So, are you ready to start the journey to a more Present, Patient, Peaceful, and Playful existence?

.